Forums & Feedback

3 Jul

Well, that’s the end of the Crimson Elite Saga. I’m intending to continue on with the overall story in a new series called the War for Freljord. It’s continuing with this timeline, and will continue the events of the Crimson Elite. All of these will be woven together and I hope you’ll enjoy reading them as much as I’ve enjoyed writing them!

Now, for the second part, I’d like everyone who has read this to treat this post as a forum. I want to know everything you liked and didn’t like about this series. I’m a new writer, so I want to know EVERYTHING! Were there enough characters, too many characters, too much/too little dialogue, more fights, fights suck. Anything you can think of. Even if it’s not very nice, eg. your writing sucks, as long as you can give me a reason why, I’m looking to improve. All constructive feedback is welcome!

Last point is I will be posting things for the next few days that will essentially be filler. There will be pictures, there will be funny articles, and I even have a mini story planned for it (It’s called Huedekaiser and the Dunkmaster, a Love Story for the Ages). So if you keep checking back, you will get at least minor entertainment.

Also, if anyone has any league art or stories they want to get more exposure, feel free to send them to me! I will give full credit, just let me know where you want it linked, and your name you want it under (ign, wordpress name, or real name).

Have a good week summoners :).

-Tale Master

16 Responses to “Forums & Feedback”

  1. John Smith July 3, 2012 at 8:56 pm #

    Well, I like leaving comments so…..

    The writing itself was superb. The diction and syntax was well done and the story was good. It is a little dark for my tastes, but it is what you want it.

    I would love to see Talon paired with someone 😦 Poor assassin.

    Can’t wait to see more!

    • League Tales July 3, 2012 at 9:09 pm #

      Well thank you! I’ve got a whole story overarching story planned that goes along with this and unfortunately… Talon is our main antagonist xD. haha any other champs you like that maybe I can redeem myself with?

      • John Smith July 3, 2012 at 9:24 pm #

        I liked Riven…but not with Vlad 😛
        Ashe and Tryn are a good couple.

      • League Tales July 3, 2012 at 9:47 pm #

        Good choice! Ashe is one of the focuses of the next story arc :). In the meantime, enjoy the pointless crap I release for the next few days lol.

  2. zephyrdragoon July 3, 2012 at 11:13 pm #

    I liked it, very much. It was a good read and one of the better fanfic’s I have read about league. Potentially the best that focuses on Riven.

    I would like to see how she progresses from a moral standpoint. How does she react in the long run to the things that Shyvana told her about Demacia?

    How will Swain react to Tallon’s coup? What happened to Darius and Draven? Did Riven slay them? Did they escape? How will Darius react?

    Like J.S. said; I don’t like the RivenxVlad. It just isn’t my thing.

    • League Tales July 3, 2012 at 11:25 pm #

      Well, that’s fair and that’s actually been a common complaint. People just didn’t see the two working together. And I intend to continue going with this big time!
      Just to give a little hint, the next one is a Freljordian chapter, followed by Ionian, then Demacian, ending with a Piltover/Zaun (i’m not sure which yet). You will keep hearing snippets of past events and new events in Noxus and around the world, and I’m hoping in the end they all come together quite nicely!
      Thanks for the kind words though, and I REALLY appreciate the feedback. It’s one thing thing when people hey, it’s great, it’s even better when they can give me what they enjoyed! xD

  3. Super Scoop July 3, 2012 at 11:40 pm #

    Silly Summoners;) Riven and Vlad are just friends!

    • League Tales July 3, 2012 at 11:41 pm #

      Lol too right. They have no time for trivial things like love! And… at this point since so many people DON’T like it, it probably won’t happen anyways ;).

  4. Scarlex July 4, 2012 at 12:44 am #

    I actually enjoyed the friendship pairing of Riven and Vlad. It’s that sort of two outcasts finding strength in each other deal.

    Anyway, the writing is fantastic and I like to potential foreshadowing such as the meeting with Shyvana. I just hope you will make something of it in the future 😛

    The combat is nice and flowing and as I have mentioned, I enjoy the references to the game through “signature three strikes” and saving the reforging for a crucial moment. The only problem I have noticed so far is the fight between Riven and the two Noxian Brothers. It might just have been me, but I found myself lost in the action.

    I guess that’s my two cents. Keep up the great work!

    • League Tales July 4, 2012 at 1:12 am #

      Tbh, that fight was not my best work. I rushed through it a bit, and even re-reading it I was disappointed. It may be something I eventually go back and redo, but for now it shall remain substandard.
      In regards to Riven and Vlad, that’s how I always felt about them. Though I wasn’t very true to Vlad’s characterization in his lore or his judgement, I felt he was more fun to write this way and became an interesting character :).
      I’ve really appreciated your feedback the whole way through! It was nice to know someone was enjoying them. I meant to ask you, what do you think of the changing backgrounds? (since you were here when they weren’t)

      • Scarlex July 4, 2012 at 1:42 am #

        I like the way you kept the backgrounds to the latest character 🙂 I have pondered on just adding some effects via photoshop onto the old splash art and mail someone to you. I might do that now that you request “art”.

      • League Tales July 4, 2012 at 1:43 am #

        That would be amazing! I was just talking about filler stuff for the next few days, but if that’s something you’d like to do I’d love it!

  5. Yuri_PT July 4, 2012 at 3:25 am #

    Hi again Tale Master,

    The writing was, as many have already said, superb through most of the story, with some substandard pieces such as the aforementioned Draven/Darius versus Riven… I have really enjoyed the reading, specially for the Vlad character, wchich development was very fun to accompany.

    As for suggestions to the story, I would say you can do a break sometimes when there is action going on, because it might become a bit hard to read, or when there is a dialogue choice, an expression, an event that has quite an impact both on the story and on the reader. My english isn’t the best – What I mean is using the “Enter” keyboard function in order to separate the text a bit more when some events happen.

    Also, Talon is my main and I never really considered him like a “fit to rule” kind of guy, but more of a “I don’t know where I’m going with my life” type. However, since I am an aspiring writer myself, I do enjoy the work you have done with him and the depth that, altough a bit non-present (as in “not in your face”) is nonetheless still there ^^

    Also, I do enjoy the VladxRiven pairing, I find it a bit out of the usual (not mainstream) and thus it tends to create interest to me, since both don’t know what to exactly expect from one another 😀

    Great story, don’t have any other criticism to give, all these comments are more feedbackt than anything except for the “Enter” one. Thank you and keep the content coming ^^

    • League Tales July 4, 2012 at 3:35 am #

      I’m really glad you’ve enjoyed it! Looks like tomorrow’s project will be fixing the Darius/Draven part (and here I thought I was gonna sneak it past you guys!) in addition to whatever I put out :).
      Other than that, I’ll definitely keep shorter paragraphs in mind, hopefully I can find a way to work it in pretty organically.
      As for Talon, what I had planned for him completely changed as I wrote the second entry. He started off as the “I don’t know where I am going” and then after I finished I reread it. At that point, I wrote the story that this became and enjoyed this a lot more! I ended up making him extremely intelligent and manipulative, and I think he makes an excellent antagonist!
      I like Vlad-Riven too, so we’ll have to see what happens with them!

  6. Kwazin July 5, 2012 at 5:38 am #

    Epic. More pl0x ❤ Take your time though =P

    • League Tales July 5, 2012 at 3:10 pm #

      More will come :). And as for taking my time, once I start they just roll out!

Leave a Reply

